METHYL ETHEL's new album "Everything Is Forgotten" OUT NOW

Everything Is Forgotten, the fantastic new album from Perth band Methyl Ethel, is released today via Dot Dash / Remote Control Records.


Everything Is Forgotten is a vivid, compelling and mysterious creature, all sinewy, curvaceous pop nuggets and enigmatic currents. Written and recorded by Perth-based frontman Jake Webb, the album was brought to life by acclaimed British producer James Ford (Arctic Monkeys, Foals). As demonstrated by last year’s single ‘No. 28’, the pair’s collaboration has infused Methyl Ethel’s shoegaze dream-pop palate with electronic and polyrhythmic flourishes, allowing Webb’s keening, gender-fluid vocals and searing poetry to take centre stage. Second single ‘Ubu’, a frenetic pop song inspired by Alfred Jarry’s surrealist play Ubu Roi, is a self-portrait of self-flagellation and guilt, its companion video, directed by Paxi, takes some of its absurdist cues from Jarry.


Last week the band shared album track ‘L’Heure des Sorcières’ which demonstrates a side of the band that is dark and fantastical, Webb's filtered vocal descending low into the mix to erupt soaring over a surging, foreboding arrangement. It's an arrangement that heralds a band transformed. 


Methyl Ethel are currently touring Europe and North America, but come late April, the band will return to home soil, playing Groovin' The Moo 2017 and album shows in Melbourne, Perth, Sydney and Brisbane with Everything Is Forgotten fully realised as a live experience. Full tour dates and ticket info below.

Methyl Ethel - Everything Is Forgotten Album Tour

Presented by triple j


Friday 19 May - The Corner Hotel, Melbourne

Tickets via Eventbrite


Saturday 20 May - Badlands, Perth

Tickets via Oztix


Friday 26 May - Oxford Art Factory, Sydney

Tickets via Moshtix


Saturday 27 May - Wooly Mammoth, Brisbane

Tickets via Oztix


Also appearing at Groovin' The Moo 2017