THE OCEAN PARTY ANNOUNCE NEW ALBUM, BEAUTY POINT, OUT AUG 18 ON SPUNK AND EXTENSIVE TOUR

Melbourne-by-Wagga-Wagga six-piece, The Ocean Party are pleased to announce the release of their seventh album, Beauty Point, out August 18 on Spunk Records. To celebrate, they have shared the video clip to new single, “More To Run”, premiering via Banalarama. The band have also announced an extensive Australian tour, hitting Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, Alice Springs and everywhere in between. 

"More To Run" follows on from, "Quality Control" and is something of a secular hymn for the modern age. As a musing on feelings of isolation and nihilism, the track deals with the frustrations of yearning for more in an already over-saturated society and features label mate, Emma Russack, as well as, Becky Sui Zhen (Sui Zhen, No Zu) and Ashley Bundang (Totally Mild, Ciggie Witch) on backing vocals.

After their 2016 release, Restless The Ocean Party once again took to writing new material while touring and shaping the next full-length entrant to their oeuvre. Beauty Point arrives a year later and showcases the shifts in the lives and inspirations of the band over that time. 

Recorded in two parts, Beauty Point began to be realized in a week of sessions at a house/studio in Stanwell Park, N.S.W. The beautiful cliffside location was contrasted by the albums final sessions, which took place in the bands inland hometown of Wagga Wagga. This time the location was on top of Beauty Point Drive - the town’s central lookout. As an album created very much on-location and by the band; engineer by Zac Denton and mixed and mastered by Snowy Nasdaq, The Ocean Party found the two environments painting a dichotomy in their work from two very different perspectives of beauty.

Beauty Point balances moments of introspection with visceral expression as themes of identity, belonging and significance are brought into the light by the shared perspectives of the bands six songwriters.  

THE OCEAN PARTY BEAUTY POINT ALBUM TOUR:

Fri. Aug 18 – Yass, NSW @ Thyme To Taste

Sat. Aug 19 – Sydney, NSW @ Volumes Festival

Sun. Aug 20 – Stanwell Park, NSW @ Lower Coast Road

Mon. Aug 21 – Canberra, ACT @ The Phoenix

Tue. Aug 22 – Wollongong, NSW @ Music Farmers

Wed. Aug 23 – Thirroul, NSW @ Franks Wild Years

Thu. Aug 24 – Bellingen, NSW @ The Federal Hotel

Fri. Aug 25 – Eumundi, QLD @ Humdrum Espresso

Sat. Aug 26 – Brisbane, QLD @Sonic Sherpa Records

Thu. Aug 31 – Townsville, QLD @The Rec Room

Fri. Sept 01 – Cairns, QLD @ The Conservatory Bar 

Sat. Sept 02 – Mackay, QLD @ Langfords Hotel

Wed. Sept 06 – Alice Springs, NT @ Monte's 

Fri. Sept 08 – Adelaide, SA @The Metro

Sat. Sept 09 – Kyneton, VIC @ Major Toms

Sun. Sept 10 – Ballarat, VIC @ TBA

Sat. Nov 04 – Melbourne, VIC @ The Pinnacle

Sun. Nov 05 – Wagga Wagga, VIC @ The Birdhouse

Ticket details / RSVP:

https://www.facebook.com/events/111530482819999

australianmusicscene