Nick Murphy shares surprise Missing Link EP

Australian producer and musician Nick Murphy today shares his Missing Link EP, a collection of new music that bridges the sonic shift between Chet Faker and Nick Murphy. The 5 track release is out today (via Future Classic) and opens with Murphy’s new single ‘Your Time’. The track was produced by KAYTRANADA, and premiered this morning on triple j Breakfast and Beats 1 with Zane Lowe.

Premiered on Pitchfork overnight, the EP is Murphy’s first release since announcing last year that he will write, record and perform under his given name, and step away from the Chet Faker moniker. “Chet Faker was me trying to prove something to myself”, says Murphy. “But my tastes are pretty dynamic and I realised I’ve spent time resisting that. Now I want to put everything in. It’s not conceptual anymore. It’s just me, and it made sense to show that in a name. It feels like a rediscovery.”

After announcing the name change, Murphy shared two new tracks - Stop Me (Stop You) and ‘Fear Less’ - and he notes, “This huge wave came out and I broadened the framework. Instead of having to make finished tracks, I could just explore. That felt like the missing link between where I was and where I’m going now.”

The trailer for the Missing Link EP, co-directed by Murphy and Johann Rashid, was released last week and teases the EP’s forthcoming visual accompaniment. Watch the trailer HERE. Recently, Murphy released a short video interview with collaborator Dave Harrington where he discusses the name change, creating his new music and more, watch the interview HERE.

Murphy will bring his dynamic live show to stages across the globe throughout the rest of 2017. Next month Murphy will perform an exclusive residency at the Sydney Opera House for Vivid LIVE. Over three headline dates this June, Murphy will perform a brand new show and material. Afterwards, Murphy will embark on an extensive world tour that features headlines shows in North America, the UK and Europe. For tour details and to purchase tickets, visit

Murphy’s achievements as Chet Faker are great and varied. He appeared in the top 10 of triple j’s Hottest 100 for three consecutive years (including #1 for his double-platinum, bonafide hit ‘Talk is Cheap’) and his critically acclaimed debut album Built on Glass was an international success. Murphy has performed sold out shows on five continents, and has played at the world’s top festivals including Laneway Festival, Coachella, Lollapalooza, Glastonbury, Primavera Sound, and more.

Missing Link tracklist

1. Your Time (produced by KAYTRANADA)
2. Bye
3. I'm Ready
4. Forget About Me
5. Weak Education

Missing Link is out now via Future Classic. Stream/buy it here

Vivid LIVE tour dates

 1 June - Concert Hall, Sydney Opera House

 2 June - Concert Hall, Sydney Opera House

3 June - Concert Hall, Sydney Opera House

Tickets from